Turner Prize 2019

Tate Britain Announced Shortlisted Artists

The four artists competing for this year’s Turner Prize have been announced. The nominees are Jordanian Lawrence Abu Hamdan, London-based Helen Cammock and Tai Shani and Colombian Oscar Murillo.

The 2019 prize’s jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, the director of Tate Britain in London, and also includes Alessio Antoniolli, the director of the Gasworks & Triangle Network; Elvira Dyangani Ose, the director of the Showroom Gallery and a lecturer in visual cultures at Goldsmiths; Victoria Pomery, the director of Turner Contemporary; and art writer Charlie Porter.

Next year the prize will return to Tate Britain. The members of the 2020 jury are: Richard Birkett, ChiefCurator at the Institute of Contemporary Arts; Sarah Munro, Director of BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art; Fatoş Üstek, Director of Liverpool Biennial; and Duro Olowu, designer and curator.